h1

Certification

February 3, 2015

Opportunities for contact hours

Last week the paperwork arrived from the Maine Department of Education Certification office informing me that it is time to resubmit paperwork and a check to continue my certification for another five years. I was a bit nervous since I am not in a school district with a certification committee to help guide me if I have any questions. I read through the paperwork three times just to be sure I understood all that I had to do.

I dragged out my portfolio where I file my proof of contact hours and CEUs looking for the magic “90” hours. I stacked them in order and copied them highlighting the hours so it would be easy to get a total. I was surprised to learn that I had over 200 contact hours.

Periodically I receive desperate emails from teachers asking if I know of any professional development opportunities since they’ve received the same envelope that I did and that they don’t have enough hours. Quite frankly, I am not sure how, in this day and age, someone can not have enough!

For example, the Maine Arts Assessment Initiative (MAAI) is offering five professional development opportunities during this school year throughout Maine.

MAAI Logo_Color_TxtRtMAAI MEGA-REGIONAL WORKSHOPS
Details and registration information is available at http://mainearts.maine.gov/Pages/Education/MAAI-Mega-Regionals-2014-2015#. Each site has different offerings and you can attend one or more.

The cost is $25 and 5.5 contact hours are offered.

I made that last part nice and large so you can see the contact hour offering quite clearly.

Locations and Dates

Schedule for each Mega-regional

  • 8:15 a.m. Registration begins
  • 8:45 a.m. Opening Session and Morning Workshops
  • 9:10 – 10:20 a.m. Breakout Workshop Session I
  • 10:20 – 10:30 a.m. Break
  • 10:30 – 11:40 a.m. Breakout Workshop Session II
  • 11:40 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Lunch, participants on their own
  • 12:30 – 12:45 p.m. Artist Showcase
  • 12:45 – 2:45 p.m. Session III Large group by Arts Discipline on Proficiency-Based Education and Teacher Effectiveness
  • 2:45 – 3:00 p.m. Closing Session

Maai group 2PM Session

The Arts and Proficiency: What, Why and How?

The afternoon session will be focused around group discussions utilizing key questions on how proficiency (and teacher effectiveness) is being implemented across the state of Maine in our own arts classrooms. Participants will leave with concrete ideas and/or plans to facilitate their own actions. These may lead to breakout sessions to deeper discussions and common concerns. This session will be separated between visual and performing arts teachers.

I hope that you will take advantage of these opportunities to learn from and with your colleagues. Maine has a wonderful network of visual and performing arts teachers who are willing to collaborate and share information. We are so fortunate! Please email me at argy.nestor@maine.gov if you have any questions.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

