Archive for February 15th, 2015


Poetry Out Loud

February 15, 2015

10 year reunion

Screen Shot 2015-02-12 at 11.07.42 PMPoetry Out Loud (POL) is a program of the National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation in conjunction with the Maine Arts Commission. POL is celebrating the 10 year reunion.

The program encourages the nation’s youth to learn about great poetry through memorization and performance. This exciting program helps students master public speaking skills, build self-confidence and learn about their literary heritage. Registration is open to all public, private, parochial and home school high schools in Maine.

Earlier this week the Southern Maine Poetry competition took place at the Biddeford Public Theater with 24 students participating. Each student recited two poems and after rounds 1 and 2, ten students were selected to recite a third poem. From those 10, five students were selected (see below) to attend the statewide final event where they will compete against five students from the northern part of the state. One student will represent Maine at the national POL event.

IMG_1781Congratulations to the following students who represented their schools at the Southern Maine Regional Finals. Those in red are the five finalists moving on to the Maine State Finals taking place on March 11, 3 p.m., Waterville Opera House (snow date, March 12). The event is FREE and open to the public.

  • Alexandria Hammond, Arthur R. Gould School
  • Robert MacKay, Cape Elizabeth High School
  • Veeva Banga, Casco Bay High School
  • Siobhan Kenneally, Catherine McAuley High School
  • Joel Kahn, Deering High School
  • Josef Biberstein, Freeport High School
  • Doug Beahm, Gorham High School
  • Sophia McMonagle, Greely High School
  • Diamond Brown, Hyde School
  • Mimi MacKilligan, Kennebunk High School
  • Kyle Almquist, Lewiston High Shool
  • Cosette Holmes, Lisbon High School
  • Sylvia Holland, Merriconeag Waldorf High School
  • Balthasar von Hoyningen Huene, Morse High School
  • Rose Horowitz, Mt. Ararat High School
  • Charlotte Eisenberg, North Yarmouth Academy
  • Emma Weissenfels, Oak Hill High School
  • Alex Frank, Portland High School
  • Hunter Johnson, South Portland HIgh School
  • Raymond Mosca, St. Dominic Academy
  • Tatiana Reyes, Traip Academy
  • Riley Mayes, Waynflete School
  • Landry Ininahazwe, Westbrook High School
  • Ella Werner, Yarmouth High School

Five Southern Maine Finalists 

%d bloggers like this: