h1

How Playing Music Benefits Your Brain More than Any Other Activity

February 23, 2015

Brain Pickings

Every Sunday morning I receive an email from Brain Pickings. It is filled with information that I find very useful. It is like my Sunday newspaper, there is always something that I refer to in the future in some way. I don’t recall which edition this article was in called How Playing Music Benefits Your Brain More than Any Other Activity by Maria Popova but I popped the link into a blog post draft and found it today while thinking about what to post.

Just an aside, I have been putting many links onto the MEArtsEducation facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/MEArtsEducation?ref=aymt_homepage_panel but I know that many of the blog readers on not on the facebook page. I invite you to visit soon so you don’t miss any of the content going there.

Anyway, the benefits of music article is located at http://www.brainpickings.org/2015/01/29/music-brain-ted-ed/. The start of the piece is located below. With Music in Our Schools Month just around the corner, you may want to share this with your students, parents, and colleagues.

“Playing music is the brain’s equivalent of a full-body workout.”

“Each note rubs the others just right, and the instrument shivers with delight. The feeling is unmistakable, intoxicating,” musician Glenn Kurtz wrote in his sublime meditation on the pleasures of practicing, adding: “My attention warms and sharpens… Making music changes my body.” Kurtz’s experience, it turns out, is more than mere lyricism — music does change the body’s most important organ, and changes it more profoundly than any other intellectual, creative, or physical endeavor.

If interested you can check out all that Brain Pickings has to offer at http://www.brainpickings.org/. If you like what you see, you can join me in receiving the email on Sunday mornings.

Leave a Reply

