Maine Youth Excellence in Art

April 24, 2015

Congratulations students and teachers

IMG_2286Students whose art work is part of the Maine Youth Excellence in Art exhibit, sponsored by the Maine Art Commission, were recognized today at a ceremony with First Lady Ann LePage. Julie Horn from the Maine Arts Commission opened the program by gathering students for a photograph on the steps in the Hall of Flags of the State House. Julie Richard, Maine Arts Commission Executive Director and Charles Stanhope, Chair of the Commission joined the First Lady in congratulating the students, parents, and art teachers.

IMG_2300Students and their teachers are listed below. The exhibit is throughout the State House complex and will remain until May 15. Please stop by and enjoy the outstanding exhibit.

  • Samantha Arenault, Chewonki Semester School, Art teacher Sue West
  • Ruth Brosey, Wayne Elementary School, Art teacher Betsy Allen-McPhedran
  • Emerson Brown, David J. Lyons Washburn District Elementary, Art teacher Beth Ann Walker
  • Emily Butler, David J. Lyons Washburn District Elementary, Art teacher Beth Ann Walker
  • Hayden Camfferman, Mt. Blue Middle School, Art teacher Danielle Guerrette
  • Adam Christianson, Swans Island School, Art teacher Chandra Cousins-Raymond
  • Eli Clein, Bangor High School, Art teacher Kal Elmore
  • Caitlyn Duffy, Gorham High School, Art teacher Sarah Dolley
  • Sophia Esch, Kennebunkport Consolidated School, Art teacher Audrey Grumbling
  • Kate Friberg, Cape Elizabeth Middle School, Art teacher Marguerite Lawler-Rohner
  • Whitney Frost, Poland Regional High School, Art teacher Tom Chaisson
  • Emily Johnson, Madison Junior High School, Art teacher Lee Harper
  • Olivia Joyce, Swans Island School, Art Teacher Chandra Cousins-Raymond
  • Ashely Kilgore, Lake Region High School, Art teacher Carmel Collins
  • D’Andre Marable, Windsor Elementary School, Art teacher Genevieve Keller
  • Deanna Marston, Mountain Valley High School, Art teacher Steven McGinty
  • Samantha McGreevy, Granite Street Elementary School, Art teacher Deborah Grabber
  • Gavyn Moreshead, SeDoMoCha Middle School, Art teacher Bobbi Tardif
  • Christian Munn, Bucksport High School, Art teacher Holly Bertrand
  • Rowan Osmer, Fruit Street Elementary School, Art teacher Wendy Libby
  • Tiana Poirier, Waterville Senior High School, Art teacher Suzanne Goulet
  • Isaiah Sawyer, Trenton Elementary School, Art teacher Connie Barnes
  • Samantha White, David J. Lyons Washburn District Elementary, Art teacher Beth Ann Walker
  • Ellea Wilson, Monmouth Middle School, Art teacher Mary Pennington
  • Claire Wyman, Appleton Village School, Art teacher Anthony Lufkin


IMG_2304There were several legislators in attendance including Senator Brian Langley (in the bottom photo) who represents Senate District 7 and serves as Chair of the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee.

A GREAT BIG THANK YOU to Julie Horn who is responsible for the MYEA program and the other MAC staff who take care of the many details!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: