h1

Happy Birthday Mom!

June 6, 2015

YAHOOOOO for Sophia!

Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 10.58.47 PMToday is my amazing Mother’s 97th birthday. I am so grateful for the many examples of how she has lived her life well. While growing up I remember her with a smile and a welcome heart to all the Greek and American community members. We would have giant community picnics in our backyard with food, dancing and merriment. My mom taught 3 generations of young people to dance Greek. My sister and I sang proudly next to her in the church choir. She played the piano and supported us to do the same. She was a strong leader in the school, county, and state PTA organization as well as the church groups. She was an official for girls basketball and played on a softball team. She always encouraged my sister, two brothers, and me to follow our dreams, work hard, and follow through on every commitment. She lead by example and partnered with my Dad in laying the foundation for our family of six. As I get older the influence my mom has had on who I am becomes more clear.

Fortunately, my son and I could travel to be with her today to help her celebrate another year. I am sure that I will see that familiar sparkle in her eyes!

Happy Birthday Mom!

2 comments

  1. I’ve seen that smile before!

    Happy Birthday, Sophia!

    Charlotte Tidemark Gallery 902 Main Street, P.O.Box 374 Waldoboro, ME 04572


  2. How beautiful, Argy! And, what a heritage your Mother has given you! Thank you for sharing these blessings..



Leave a Reply

