h1

Piano Man

June 14, 2015

Billy Joel

I’ve liked Billy Joel since my undergraduate days when I got to see him in concert at Rutgers University. After the concert we happened to be behind his limo and noticed that he was going around the block. My sister, who was a Douglass College student at the time, said that they must be lost. We hopped out of the car and provided directions. It was one of those moments that you don’t forget. All the details are in my memory as if it happened last week. I was thrilled to stumble upon this recording and just had to share it.

Recorded on November 19, 2014 at Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C. Billy was honored as the 2014 recipient of the Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song.

One comment

  1. my memory of Billy Joel was from when I saw him in Australia on tour. I remember he said to the audience that his only complaint was there were no bagels. In that moment I missed the US because I hadn’t had a babel in three years.



Leave a Reply

