h1

Ahhhh, Summer!

June 24, 2015

Happy summer vacation

Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 9.17.58 PMThe end of the school year is cause for celebration!  I know for some it is bitter sweet. More than anything it is a time to reflect, breathe deeply, and catch up on your sleep. I know the best teachers are exhausted and taking it easy, sleeping in, and stop clock-watching (takes transition time).  Once that happens, look out, because some of you will be filled with energy to do what you love most. I am also aware that many teachers have to work in the summer to make ends meet. Others are already scheduled to do formal professional development and others self-directed learning. Whatever you do, wherever you go, I hope that it is a wonderful summer. One that provides you with the chance to revitalize yourself so you are excited and rested when you return to school at the end of the summer.

Even though my job at the Maine Arts Commission is year-round I find myself reflecting on the school year and on years from the past. Recently, I bumped into a former student. We’ve communicated since then by email and he shared his thoughts on why art making is important to him. As we close out another school year I thought this might bring a smile to you, as it did for me…

“Most people go to college to get jobs. They get smart degrees that will help make money for them as they grow. People who go to school for theatre, art, film, etc., they don’t have a choice in that decision. People who don’t go to college and instead they paint, write, dance, film, create… They/we’re creative minds that need to keep flowing. Keep creating. And sometimes that involves putting everything at risk for that expression (like getting an arts degree). It doesn’t feel like a choice. If it were a choice, I’d be an accountant. It’s not; I’m doomed to make films.  :)”

In the near future I will share his full story.

Leave a Reply

