h1

Thank you

November 26, 2015

Two little words that mean so much

Screen Shot 2015-11-26 at 10.19.25 AMAnother Thanksgiving day is upon us and as I pause this morning to give THANKS I realize how fortunate I am to live where I do, work with the folks that I do, and have been born into the family that I have.

Two important branches of my family have fallen off this month and as I process my losses I try to focus on being grateful to have them in my life and to have loved them.

Below are taken from the Marc and Angel blog that really spoke to me this morning.

  • “Thank you for the incredible people who have stood beside me.” – Know that it’s less important to have more friends and more important to have real ones.  And remember, it’s during the toughest times of your life that you’ll get to see the true colors of the people who say they care about you.  Don’t take these people for granted.  Look around and appreciate them, today.
  • “Thank you for my feelings and emotions.” – The most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or touched, they are felt only with the heart.
  • “Thank you for giving me someone to love.” – The best thing to hold onto in life is each other.  To love and win is the best thing in the world.  To love and lose, is the next best.
  • “Thank you for my home.” – A house is a home when it shelters the body and comforts the soul.  But a home isn’t always a physical structure, or a specific location on a map.  Home is wherever the people you love are, whenever you’re with them.  It’s not a defined place, but a space in your heart and mind that builds upon itself like little bricks being stacked to create something stable that you take with you for your entire life, wherever you may go.
  • “Thank you for giving me the ability to love.” – Only those of us who are capable of loving deeply can also suffer deep sorrow, but this same necessity of loving serves to counteract our grief and heals us.
  • “Thank you for my health.” – You may not be perfectly healthy, but if you’re reading this, you’re likely reasonably healthy.  In other words, if you got sick today you could recover.  Never underestimate the gift of your health.  It’s the greatest wealth you will ever own.  It’s the foundation for every chance at happiness and success life has to offer.  Your body is the only place you will truly ever live.
  • “Thank you for the power to give back and make a difference.” – The fact that you can plant a seed and it becomes a flower, share a bit of knowledge and it becomes another’s, smile at someone and receive a smile in return, is proof that YOU can make a big difference.

And, another saying that I discovered this week:

“We all die. The goal isn’t to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.” ~ Chuck Palahniuk

My warmest wishes for a Happy Thanksgiving, wherever you are today!

Leave a Reply

