h1

Living a Creative Life

November 29, 2015

What is creativity, really?

Elizabeth Gilbert did a TED Talk called Your elusive creative genius. I have embedded the link below. Elizabeth believes that: “we’re all creative souls already, we just need to figure out how to harness inspiration and unleash the creative spirit within.” She has 11 ways to think smartly about creativity.

Here’s a segment of #1: If you’re alive, you’re a creative person.
How many times have you heard someone say, “I don’t have a creative bone in my body.” It’s like somebody handed that person that placard to wear when they were nine, and they’ve been wearing it around their neck ever since. But rather than challenging them on that, because then they’ll dig in their heels, I ask them to take the word “creative” out of the sentence and replace it with the word “curious,” just to see how ridiculous it sounds. Just that piece alone jumps out at me – my goodness it makes me crazy when I hear people say it.

You can read all 11 at this link: http://ideas.ted.com/fear-is-boring-and-other-tips-for-living-a-creative-life/.

And the TED talk

Leave a Reply

