Archive for May 11th, 2018


Soooo Proud!

May 11, 2018

Great day for Maine Arts Education

Yesterday in Augusta at a Hall of Flags ceremony in the State House the 2018 County Teachers of the Year were announced. Among the group were 3 arts teachers out of 16! How cool is that – 2 visual art teachers and 1 music teacher. The Arts are well represented and we as arts educators have so much to be proud of. There were 350 teachers nominated statewide. Please join me in CONGRATULATING the following arts educators.

Anthony Lufkin


Anthony Lufkin – elementary visual art educator
Friendship Village School, Prescott Memorial School and Union Elementary


Christine Del Rossi – high school visual art educator

Mt. Ararat High School
David Coffey – high school music educator
Belfast Area High School and Troy Howard Middle School
I’m so proud to know these teachers. All three have taken leadership roles. Anthony has worked closely with MALI teaching artist leader Tim Christensen. David is a MALI Teacher Leader joining the initiative in August 2017. Christine has been on the MAEA board member for several years.

David Coffey with his students at Point Lookout to perform at the Maine Arts Commission Arts and Prosperity report luncheon in February 2018

WABI TV5 was there covering the event which you can view HERE. The 2018 Maine State Teacher of the Year, music educator Kaitlin Young, from SeDoMoCha School in Dover Foxcroft was there to to congratulate the educators and is on the TV clip. Kaitlin is a wonderful ambassador for all Maine teachers. Recently she traveled to Washington D.C. to meet the other state Teachers of the Year and for a ceremony in the Rose Garden at the White House. Thank you Kaitlin for representing all of us! So proud of you!

The rest of the 2018 County Teaches of the Year include:
Androscoggin: Katie Toothaker, Minot Consolidated School
Aroostook: William “Bill” Guerrette, Presque Isle Middle School
Cumberland: Connie Russell, Mabel I. Wilson School
Franklin: Jessica Ellingwood, Spruce Mountain High School
Hancock: Jennifer Farnham, Hancock Grammar School
Kennebec: Katy Jones, Winslow Junior High School
Lincoln: Daniel Hupp, Great Salt Bay Community School
Oxford: Jessica McGreevy, Oxford Hills Middle School
Penobscot: Shana Goodall, Orono High School
Piscataquis: Joseph Hennessey, Piscataquis Community High School
Somerset: Patti Champagne, Bloomfield Elementary
Washington: Kailee Colbeth, Washington Academy
York: Kristin Klin, Bonny Eagle Middle School
One of the 16 county teachers of the year will become the 2019 Maine Teacher of the Year. Wouldn’t it be great if Kaitlin was followed by another visual or performing arts educator?!
%d bloggers like this: