Archive for May 13th, 2018


What a Celebration!

May 13, 2018

Excellence in VPA Education

It was a great day for arts education at the State House. Students and educators from Bangor and Lewiston schools visited Augusta on Monday, April 30 to celebrate students of the arts. The art work will be on display throughout the State House complex until May 31. Hopefully you can visit the exhibit!

Lewiston students with First Lady Ann LePage


Bangor students with First Lady Ann LePage


Excellence in Maine Visual and Performing Arts Education

Monday 30 April 2018

Welcome– Julie A. Richard, Executive Director, Maine Arts Commission

Performance– James F. Doughty School chorus, Directed by Judith Michalik


Suzan Beaudoin, Deputy Commissioner

Ann LePage, First Lady of Maine

Recognition of Artists – Martha Harris, Chair of the Board of Education and Ann LePage

Performance– Lewiston Middle School chorus, directed by Sarah Drewal

Closing and Group Photo – Beth Lambert and Argy Nestor

Self-tour of Artwork

For over ten years, the Maine Department of Education and the Maine Arts Commission have celebrated arts education by hosting rotating student art exhibits. These exhibits celebrate the high quality of visual art education in Maine.

Student artwork is displayed throughout the State House complex, in the Department, and the Commission and features three school districts from across Maine. We are proud of all the students and teachers who have contributed!

Thank you to the following music educators for their work in bringing students to perform at the celebration. Judith Michalik with the James F. Doughty School chorus and Sarah Drewal with the Lewiston Middle School chorus. Thank you to the following visual art educators for their work on this exhibit. From Lewiston Schools: Kay Allison, Kate Cargile, Laura Manchester, and Allison Price. From Bangor Schools: Susan Bryand, Jenna Caler, Heidi Crahen, Courtney Harvey, Eric Hutchins, Katrina Lajoie, Stephanie Leonard, Wendy Libby, and Eva Wagner.

To view photos from the celebration please CLICK HERE.


MAEA Awards

May 13, 2018


Congratulations to the following who were recently recognized by the Maine Art Education Association!

  • Maine Art Educator of the Year – Holly Houston, Yarmouth High School
  • Middle Level Art Educator of the Year – Amy Cousins, Gorham Middle School
  • Art Education Supervisor of the Year – Beth Lambert, Maine DOE
  • Distinguished Art Educator Award – Maura McHugh, Mt. Ararat Middle School
  • Outstanding Service Through the Profession, Bobbi Tardif, SeDoMoCha Middle School
  • Outstanding Service to the Profession – Cory Buckham, Brunswick Middle School
  • Outstanding Service to the Community – Kate Cargile, Lewiston Middle School
  • National Board Professional Certified Teacher – Vanessa White-Capelluti, Wells High School
%d bloggers like this: