h1

Lupine Lady at Bowdoin College Museum of Art

June 12, 2009

“Miss Rumphius” by Barbara Cooney

IMG_0489Many of you have read or heard about “Miss Rumphius”, the children’s book by Barbara Cooney. It was one of my own children’s favorite books and I also shared the book with my students. In my last email to the arts ed list serve I mentioned that I was finally able to grow lupines. Shortly afterwards I received an email from Victoria Wilson, Assistant to the Director, Public Education Outreach and Membership Manager at the Bowdoin College of Art.

Victoria was glad I mentioned my lupines and let me know about one of Bowdoin College Museum of Art’s exhibits going on during June.

On view now are the paintings for “Miss Rumphius” by Barbara Cooney June 5 – June 28, 2009 in the John A. and Helen P. Becker Gallery.

The Museum holds the original paintings for the illustrations in four of Barbara Cooney’s books. This exhibition includes the original paintings for the beloved Miss Rumphius, part of Barbara Cooney’s “Maine Trilogy.” Miss Rumphius travels the globe before setting in her home by the sea and making her local world more beautiful. During the later part of the summer, another exhibition of Cooney’s works will include paintings from other books.

Please click here to visit the Bowdoin College Museum of Art web site and book a tour. If you use any of Barbara Cooney’s books in your classroom, please share by posting a comment.

3 comments

  1. The appearance of Lupines is a sure sign that spring is here in Maine. I love the color they bring to the landscape, even if it is only for a short period. Thanks for sharing.


  2. “Miss Rumphius” was one of my favorite books as a child. Thanks for sharing about the exhibit!


  3. I can’t wait to visit the museum to see the exhibit myself. When I told my 18 year old about it he made me promise I would not go without him.



Leave a comment